The program

Principles and goals

PNB is an inter-professional project launched in 2012, and managed by Dilicom, with supported from the start by CNL.

It is the result of discussions between the various stakeholders. The project relies on « Recommendations for the development of digital reading in public libraries » signed by Ms Fleur Pellerin, French Minister of Culture and Communications, and by actors of the sector after the Congress For Libraries from December 2014. These recommendations are the backbone of the project: it is, thereby essential that all stakeholders who get involved in PNB consider these recommendations.

The French Ministry of Culture and Communications will supervise the project deployment.

PNB is neither a software, a distribution platform, or a turnkey solution. It consists in a self management information system based on an Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) and places its fundamentals in the variety of interactions between actors inside the network.

Every publisher will define the offer to his convenience: audience and targeted client segment, characteristics of the offer and terms of use (number of authorized loans, number of simultaneous users, duration of the offer, maximum loan period per reader, etc.) and price.

Interoperability

The commercial relations remain unchanged between the different actors: each reseller must sign the mandate contract with each distributor to provide services as defined in the PNB system. Libraries’ purchases shall be operated by a reseller, and, depending on the amounts involved, issued over the counter or a request for tenders.

Rather than creating a unique monolithic system, DILICOM has opted for a set of solutions and services based on web technologies that enable to share data between different information systems from the actors of the PNB network (publishers’ distribution platforms, libraries, book shops).

For the resellers and libraries, each actor will have the possibility to create his own interface or freely choose his service provider for a standard solution (monitoring software, white label portal, etc.) or to develop a tailor made solution.

Each actor of the system will establish its interface board once and for all whatever the number of entries that follow. DILICOM ensures its inter-operability.

The libraries will manage the enrolment and access of the readers without ever being communicated to the general PNB system. The lending policy will remain totally under the control of the library that will define his own lending ratio within the limits established by each editor.

Neutrality

The PNB program relies on a neutral actor (DILICOM). He takes upon himself the role of standardization and coordination of projects, and ensures, with his inter-branch position, the role of trusted third-party.

DILICOM has created all the interfaces required for data exchanges between different actors’ systems thanks to its exchange platform dedicated to digital (the HUB).

DILICOM’s track records of every data exchange conducted on the platform enables each actor an easier change of service provider when he needs to: all his activities linked to PNB will be restored to him.

The program also facilitates the consolidation and sharing of statistical data around the utilisation of resources and which will be made public by authorization of the French Ministry of Culture.

PNB services may be consulted for free and with no limit in time for professionals from the sector on DILICOM’s website (logins will be delivered on simple demand by filling in a form) and on libraries’ websites, which also offer advice and recommendations.

Perimeter

In this first version access to PNB is directed exclusively to public libraries (libraries or public library networks, Paris libraries, BDP (regional libraries), academic libraries and French council libraries) and within the limit of French, Belgian, Swiss, Luxemburg and Monaco territories.

Dispositif

Principes et objectifs

PNB (Prêt Numérique en Bibliothèque) est un dispositif interprofessionnel, lancé en 2012, opéré par DILICOM et soutenu à son lancement par le CNL.

Il est le résultat des discussions menées entre les différentes parties prenantes et repose sur les « Recommandations pour une diffusion du livre numérique par les bibliothèques publiques » signées par Mme Fleur Pellerin, Ministre de la Culture et de la Communication, et les acteurs de la filière, lors des assises des bibliothèques en décembre 2014 (voir ici). Ces recommandations constituent le socle du projet : il est par conséquent important que toutes les parties prenantes qui s’engagent dans PNB observent ces recommandations.

Le déploiement du projet est évalué sous l’égide du Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication. 

PNB (Prêt Numérique en Bibliothèque) n’est ni un logiciel, ni une plateforme de distribution, ni une solution clés en main. Il constitue un système d’information inter-organisationnel (SIIO) basé sur l’échange de données informatisé (EDI) et fait le pari de la diversité et de l’interaction des acteurs dans le réseau ainsi formé.

Chaque éditeur définit l’offre telle qu’il l’entend : public et segment de clients visés, caractéristiques de l’offre en termes d’usage (nombre de prêts, nombre d’utilisateurs simultanés, durée de l’offre, durée maximale du prêt par lecteur, etc) et prix.

Interopérabilité

Les relations commerciales entre les différents acteurs restent inchangées : les revendeurs doivent signer un contrat de mandat avec chaque diffuseur pour pouvoir proposer l’offre telle qu’elle est définie dans le dispositif PNB ; les achats par les bibliothèques s’effectuent auprès des revendeurs et passent, selon les montants engagés, par des marchés de gré à gré ou par des appels d’offre.

Plutôt que de créer une solution monolithique unique, DILICOM a opté pour un ensemble de solutions et de services basés sur des technologies web qui permettent l’échange de données entre les différents systèmes d’information des acteurs du réseau PNB (plateforme de distribution des éditeurs, librairies et bibliothèques). C’est le principe de l’interopérabilité

Côté revendeurs et bibliothèques, chaque acteur développe, grâce aux outils mis à sa disposition par PNB,  l’interface qu’il souhaite ou choisit librement un prestataire qui lui propose soit une solution standard (logiciel de gestion, portail en marque blanche, etc) soit une solution développée sur mesure.

Chaque acteur du système établit l’interfaçage une fois pour toute quel que soit ensuite le nombre de nouveaux entrants. DILICOM en assure l’interopérabilité.

L’inscription et l’accès des lecteurs sont gérés par les bibliothèques sans jamais être communiqués au système central de PNB. La politique de prêt est totalement sous le contrôle de la bibliothèque qui définit ses propres quotas de prêts dans le cadre des limites définies par chaque éditeur.

Neutralité

Le dispositif PNB repose sur un acteur neutre (DILICOM) qui joue à la fois le rôle de normalisation et de coordination du projet et assure, en raison de sa position dans l’interprofession, le rôle de tiers de confiance.

DILICOM a développé toutes les interfaces nécessaires aux échanges de données entre les systèmes des différents acteurs à partir de sa plateforme d’échanges dédiée au numérique, appelée HUB.

L’enregistrement par DILICOM de tous les échanges effectués sur la plateforme, permet à chaque acteur de changer plus facilement de prestataire quand il le souhaite : toutes les données liées à son activité PNB lui seront restituées.

Le dispositif facilite également la consolidation et le partage des statistiques sur l’utilisation des ressources et qui seront communiquées sur autorisation au Ministère de la Culture.

L’offre PNB peut être consultée gratuitement et sans limite de temps, par les professionnels du secteur, sur le site de DILICOM (les identifiants sont communiqués sur simple demande en remplissant le formulaire) et sur les sites des libraires qui contiennent conseils et recommandations.

Périmètre

Dans cette première version et sous réserve de dispositions plus restrictives en fonction des éditeurs ou des diffuseurs, PNB s’adresse exclusivement aux bibliothèques publiques (bibliothèques ou réseaux de bibliothèques municipales, bibliothèques de la Ville de Paris, bibliothèques départementales de prêt [BDP], bibliothèques universitaires et bibliothèques des instituts culturels français) et se limite aux territoires français, belge, suisse, luxembourgeois et monégasque.